Best. Games. Ever. – #7: Indiana Jones and the Fate of Atlantis

During the 80s and early 90s, the big names in adventure games were Sierra, Infocom, and Lucasarts. At the pinnacle of the adventure game experience, for me, lies Indiana Jones and the Fate of Atlantis.  Fate is another game released, interestingly enough, during 1992.

Fate represented everything that was great about the Lucasarts SCUMM adventure engine (point and click actions and dialog and easy inventory management), and combined it with the classic Indy franchise into an amazing game.

Every screen was a work of beauty (particularly Atlantis itself). Every note – adapted from John Williams’ famous score – was perfectly suited for its scene. Every line was filled with the style of wit and humor that made Hal Barwood games a delight to play. The voice acting in the 1993 re-release was spot-on.

To this day, I love to load this one up from time to time just for the quick trip down memory lane.

Adventure games are making a bit of a comeback these days. I’ve had a lot of fun playing the Sam and Max series on Gametap. But, in my mind, no game has yet to exceed the sheer artistic beauty of Fate.

Runner up in the adventure game category – Gabriel Knight II: The Beast Within. Its been over ten years since that game was made, and I have yet to find a game that utilizes live action video as well as this one.

2 Responses to Best. Games. Ever. – #7: Indiana Jones and the Fate of Atlantis

  1. Steve says:

    I LOVED this game! The puzzles were just the right level of tricky. I didn’t know about “walk-through’s” back in the day so I actually had to solve every one, leaving me with a great sense of accomplishment when I was done. And, best of all, it was true to the character.

    I tried other Indy games later, but they were too action-oriented. Of all my favorite characters, Indy should be about figuring things out. When I think of him, he is rubbing his chin and muttering, “Hmmm…”

    By the way, did you know that they have finally released the “Temple of Doom” soundtrack on CD? It only took a couple of decades. There is a new 5-disc set that includes new music from Raiders and Crusade as well. Unfortunately, the Crystal Skull disc is exactly the same as the one I just bought…and doesn’t include some great cues from this movies like those with Henry’s Theme. But the 18-minute interview on Disc 5 with Williams, Lucas, and Spielberg almost makes up for that.

  2. Steve says:

    I LOVED this game! The puzzles were just the right level of tricky. I didn’t know about “walk-through’s” back in the day so I actually had to solve every one, leaving me with a great sense of accomplishment when I was done. And, best of all, it was true to the character.

    I tried other Indy games later, but they were too action-oriented. Of all my favorite characters, Indy should be about figuring things out. When I think of him, he is rubbing his chin and muttering, “Hmmm…”

    By the way, did you know that they have finally released the “Temple of Doom” soundtrack on CD? It only took a couple of decades. There is a new 5-disc set that includes new music from Raiders and Crusade as well. Unfortunately, the Crystal Skull disc is exactly the same as the one I just bought…and doesn’t include some great cues from this movies like those with Henry’s Theme. But the 18-minute interview on Disc 5 with Williams, Lucas, and Spielberg almost makes up for that.

Leave a Reply

