Best. Games. Ever. – #9: Heroes of Might and Magic Series

In the mid-nineties, I bought Heroes of Might and Magic II on a whim. I had heard a lot of good things about the original, and I thought I’d give it a try.

At the time, Levi – who was a very clean-cut six year-old boy – had an underpowered PC in his bedroom that was crudely networked to my own through a hole in the wall between our rooms.

We started playing.

I always went for the good guy fantasy faction. I would amass forces comprised of knights and archers and pikemen and the like. Levi chose – for some reason – the horror faction. His armies would be composed of cartoonish zombies, vampires, ghouls, etc. I never really put much thought into why he made this choice, or even what he was choosing, from an aesthetic standpoint.

I have a very distinct memory of one night – while I was still trying to build up my economy and army – seeing Levi’s own forces moving in to attack before I was ready. At once I thought: “Oh, no! Here comes Levi and his army of the undead!”

I instantly died laughing at the irony of this tiny little boy commanding a virtual army of evil!

Various incarnations of this series have continued to keep me busy for over a decade, now. HOMM is the perfect quick fix when I’m looking for a turn-based strategy experience, but I don’t want to invest hours upon hours’ of play time to finish a game.

Leave a Reply

