Voting for Obama 6: Why I Don’t Care All That Much

Nations are in uproar, kingdoms fall;
       he lifts his voice, the earth melts.

The LORD Almighty is with us;
       the God of Jacob is our fortress.

Come and see the works of the LORD,
       the desolations he has brought on the earth.

He makes wars cease to the ends of the earth;
       he breaks the bow and shatters the spear,
       he burns the shields with fire.

“Be still, and know that I am God;
       I will be exalted among the nations,
       I will be exalted in the earth.”

– Psalm 46:4-10

Last week, I stepped into an early voting booth and submitted my ballot in the Presidential election. I voted for the Democrats’ candidate this time around. Next time, it may be a Republican again. I tried to be responsible with my decision, but the truth is, it doesn’t matter all that much to me.

The other day, I heard about someone who I know to be a sincere, committed Christian saying: “I just don’t know what we [i.e., Christians] are going to do if Obama wins.”

I’m sure this person is not alone. There are lots of people out there – Christian and otherwise – who think that the fate of their world hangs on whether their candidate wins.

They are wrong.

As I stated in a previous post in this series, the fate of the world is not to be found in the triumph of human authority, but in the end of it.

Both McCain and Obama, when they are at their very best, are capable of doing good things. McCain’s desire to deal with government waste, so that our tax dollars are used more efficiently, is a responsible thing to do for the generations that will follow us. Obama’s vision of making health care more accessible to the poor is likewise worthy of pursuit. Both candidates, I think, want to see a responsible end to the conflict in Iraq.

But, as the Psalmist reminds us, our ultimate hope should not lie in Presidencies or nations.

God’s plan, we are told, is to end the tumult of wars and political bickering, and – at the same time – to take away the instrumentalities of conflict, so that they can never again bring about destruction.

So…as this election draws to a close amidst the uproar of the attack ads, the chain emails full of half truths, and the hate filled talk shows, I invite you to hear the invitation of the Psalmist.

Be still.

Then, you will know.

There is only One who can bring lasting peace to our planet. Only One who can bring prosperity where economies falter. Only One who can lead the poor and oppressed of all nations out of slavery and into freedom.

May His Name be blessed forever.

[Part 1] [Part 2] [Part 3] [Part 4] [Part 5]

3 Responses to Voting for Obama 6: Why I Don’t Care All That Much

  1. Kyle says:

    I agree that God is in control. And, in the big scheme, the US is a small, insignificant speck. But I also know that I am called to be an agent of change in this world, and to fight evil whenever and where ever I can. Being a Christian, and waiting for the next world does not mean that I have to be passive. If we don’t take a stand against this, then where do we draw the line? Do we “back off” when it comes to murderes and child pedophiles? Do we “be still” and let others lie and cheat our kids out of their future? I know that God is in control. But I know that he expects me, as a SOLDIER of CHRIST to ARISE. If Obama does to this country what I fear he will, then you will have to stand before God an argue this point. If McCain wins, I will too. I feel my argument is a little better.

  2. Rachel says:

    Hey curtis,
    Being a fellow christian I know how you feel. I don’t think this election is so good, but I’m willing to trust God on it and know that it’s in his plan.

Leave a Reply

