Conceptual Reboot in Progress

I realize I haven’t been posting a lot lately. There are a couple of reasons. One is that I’ve had a LOT going on. The other is a certain level of frustration about a lack of conceptual focus around here.

If you follow the feed here, you’ve read about everything from PC gaming to politics to NFL football during the last few months. None of those things are bad, but I’m not really interested – and never was – in treating this as a strictly personal blog.

I’m also a little frustrated because I feel like there are already plenty of folks who, like me, are writing about spirituality in the emerging culture. The real need at this point is not for more talk on the subject, but for resources that actually creates “space” for the development of Christian spirituality within the emerging culture. The difference is between that of writing stuff for church “insiders” about a certain kind of ministry and actually doing a certain kind of ministry.

I want to shift from the former to the latter.

So…while I’m mentally sorting through all this, any comments?

3 Responses to Conceptual Reboot in Progress

  1. Been out of town and very busy myself. I wonder the same thing, ie. how to express and follow through on these intentions. I’m not sure folks in my church home would understand these things. Those of us of a similar mind are spread out geographically. Nonetheless, I’m still happy that the internet has enabled my entry into the emergent/postmodern conversation. I’m happy my son at Lipscomb is being introduced to some of it. Very engouraging.

  2. Cheryl Russell says:

    I struggle with this same thing. Saying what I believe comes much easier to me than living what I believe. Good to hear that others are thinking about this struggle as well.

  3. curtis says:

    ” The difference is between that of writing stuff for church “insiders” about a certain kind of ministry and actually doing a certain kind of ministry.

    I want to shift from the former to the latter.”

    Amen to that.

Leave a Reply

