Beautiful

Ever since I have known her, Sheila has wanted a tattoo. Well…its been a long time coming, but she finally has not one, but two.

On her left foot is the greek word karis, a word that is translated in our English New Testaments as “grace.”

And on her right foot is the greek word agape, which represents the purest, most unconditional form of love:

Together, they represent two ideas that are shaping the course of her life. They are, at once, statements about the nature of God and statements about her own calling.

During the last few days, I’ve been asked several times about whether I like them. And my answer has always been an unqualified “yes!” They are kind-of cool, kind-of sexy, and yet also¬†appeal to the bible-nerd side of my personality all at once. I love them.

Plus, ever since Sheila told me what she was planning, a phrase from Paul’s letter to the Romans has been turning over and over in my mind. It is, simply, this:

How beautiful are the feet of those who bring good news!

Exactly.

Beautiful.

3 Responses to Beautiful

  1. toby says:

    Way to go Sheila! I have been debating getting a tatoo on my left foot for the past year. She is giving me courage.

  2. Emily says:

    thats pretty awesome!! how did you make sure you had the exact translation? i smiled when i read the paragraph because “how beautiful are the feet of those who bring good news” is the verse i have on my left foot :-)

  3. Susan says:

    Sheila – wonderful tattoos. Deep meaning, encouraging, and inspiring. Truly beautiful.

    I love tattoos with a story, and this is a fantastic story.

    I doubt that you’ll get this post since it’s an almost two-year-old post, but please feel free to send me an e-mail if you feel so compelled. :)

    In Christ.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

