Return to WoW

After a hiatus of a few months, I’ve finally decided to plunge headlong back into World of Warcraft.

When I was installing it on my notebook on Thursday, I was shocked to find out how long it takes to get a computer up and running WoW these days. First, there is a five CD installation process that pokes along for well over a half hour. Then, no fewer than FOUR incremental patches need to be applied – a process that takes at least another hour.

In short, it takes about two hours of semi-attentive nursing to get your computer in a condition where its ready to fire-up WoW.

The good news is that, once you get past the tedious process of getting it up and running, WoW is as great as ever. The stylized game world is as beautiful as I remember it, and I’m as hooked as ever on that little bar that runs across the bottom of the screen, showing the gradual progress of my Night Elf from level to level.

Plus – I was pleasantly surprised to find that my old character was still exactly where I left him several months ago, ready to continue with his adventures.

As an extra bonus, the TOS (Terms of Service) is strictly and properly enforced on WoW, making the whole experience of interacting with the rest of the community something that is actually pleasant. No foul-mouthed 13 year old guys to deal with here – just a community of nice folks of all ages and walks, ready to help out if I need it.

One Response to Return to WoW

  1. Richard says:

    Hi Matt,
    I’m exposing my lack of cultural IQ here, but I’ve never played WoW, or even seen it. I’d love a tutorial sometime.

Leave a Reply

