Beautiful Peace 1: A Confession

Drop Thy still dews of quietness,
Till all our strivings cease;
Take from our souls the strain and stress,
And let our ordered lives confess
The beauty of Thy peace.
– John G. Whittier

Somewhere along the way, the fast forward button for my world got stuck. Days, weeks, months, even years now blur and flash by in my consciousness like a DVR set on maximum speed. My attention flits from work to parenting to marriage to volunteer work to the latest headlines and back to work again in cycles that run in minutes, sometimes even seconds. Occasionally, I begin to reel from the experence, and I stop to try and clear my head. But I have little time to take a breath before a phone rings or an email pops up, or a 7 year-old asks me to read her a story. Then, I’m back into the melee again.

I’ve read warnings about this for years, of course. Stress, sleep deprivation, anxiety, overcommitment – all of these things are linked to a whole array of bad things: heart disease, depression, marital strain, cancer, male pattern baldness. Yet, in spite of my efforts to avoid it, responsibility only seems to multiply exponentially.

I write, then, about peace, not as someone who experiences it all the time, but as someone who despirately needs more of it. The modern, Western twist-a-whirl of high-speed internet, 100+ channel television, instant messaging, mobile business, and nationwide cell phone service is whipping me about in a frenzy. And I’m ready to get off.

(More to come)

Photo Credit: www.zamperla.com

One Response to Beautiful Peace 1: A Confession

  1. toby says:

    I have been thinking of peace alot lately. I guess it is because I have so little of it. But the image that always comes to my mind when I think of it is from The Lord of the Rings: The Return of the King. It is when the “ghost” army of men finally fulfill their vow and fight for Aragorn. After the fight, they ask Aragorn to release them, which he does. The look on the ghost king’s face at that moment is the look of peace I seek.

Leave a Reply

