Christmas Eve Adventures

This morning, we enjoyed worshipping with the Church of Christ in Cisco. The language and practices here always come across as a little alien to my kids. In Cisco, they “partake” of the Lord’s Supper – not a word that they hear used a lot. There is also a lot of talk about being “worthy” as we worship – a part of our faith tradition’s longstanding concern with holiness. 

Larry Fitgerald – the preacher here – continues to do a solid, faithful job ministering to this congregation that is steeped in the traditions of Churches of Christ.

The language and traditions of the folks here in Cisco are an important part of their spirituality – every bit as integral to their faith as the Book of Common Prayer to those who are a part of the anglican traditions. It is a privilege to come and be a part of those rhythms from time to time.

The familiar faces here are a great inspiration – examples of faithfulness and commitment to the way of Jesus, even as the ways of the world continue to change around them. I was also impressed by their commitment to imitate Jesus in the way they reach out to the needy in the community – several of these folks will be working to provide meals (about 400 total, as I understand it) for the community tomorrow.

Tonight, after a few more hours with my extended family, we will be at St. Paul United Methodist in Abilene for their candlelight Christmas eve service. Then…home for Christmas.

_______

One last question: I’m embarrased to say it, but at 42 years of age, I still don’t know exactly what “round yon Virgin” means. Can anyone explain that for me? Anyone else want to fess up to not knowing what it means themselves?

4 Responses to Christmas Eve Adventures

  1. Jonathan Sharp says:

    Matt, a virgin is someone who has not had sex.

    Hope this helps.

    Merry Christmas

  2. Matt says:

    I suppose I had that coming.

    Anyone want to help me with the “round yon” part?

  3. nena says:

    This is my most educated guess. But I think it means a-round the virgin, Mary. “Yon” appears to mean “near to” her and “seeing her”. As in, behold she is with us here. Something like that, I think. Don’t quote me on this.

  4. WendyP says:

    I always thought that the verse translated to, “all is calm, all is bright around the virgin mother and child,” with yon meaning “that or those yonder” according to dictionary.com.

Leave a Reply

