Thanksgiving List

Today, I’m thankful for…

  1. A sure future and a hope for freedom from bondage to sin, death and decay.
  2. Sheila – her friendship, compassion, example, and character. (Have I mentioned lately how incredibly gorgeous she is, too?)
  3. Turkey, dressing, rolls, mashed potatos, coke, cheesecake, and football.
  4. Mom and dad – their health, their generosity, and their love for the grandkids.
  5. Uncles, aunts, nieces, nephews, in-laws galore, and all of the crazy holiday mayhem that comes with them. And God bless ’em all – I love ’em – but I’m also thankful for…
  6. The day after the holiday mayhem ends.
  7. A secure home that is warm in the winter and cool in the summer.
  8. The odometer on my 98 Altima – 157,000 miles and no end in sight. Woo-hoo! Paid-off transportation!
  9. The eleven girls on Lexi’s soccer team – the way they go out and overachieve, game after game, is just flat amazing to me.
  10. Getting to watch my girls’ countless arabesques, plies, ron de jombes, and an assortment of other ballet-related, french-sounding elements that I can’t even pronounce, much less type.
  11. The nervousness I feel when Levi starts sacrificing chess pieces to gain position on his opponents. And the pride I feel, regardless of whether it works.
  12. Gene Roddenberry, George Lucas, Chris Carter (X-Files), Joss Wheedon (Buffy), Ron Moore/Michael Rymer (the new Galactica), and an assortment of other producers, directors, and writers who helped to shape me into the sci-fi nerd that I am today.
  13. Sid Meier – the genius behind the ever-addictive Civilization series of computer games.
  14. Grant, Toby, and Brad – and great lunch conversation, often over Rosa’s soft tacos, which can turn from sports to faith struggles to sexual purity in a split second.
  15. Many, many other people in my faith community whom I have the privilege of calling friends – Michael, Susan, Tim, Angie, Joe, Bart, Laura – and lots of others I’m not naming here.
  16. The women who meet and pray with Sheila every Monday night.
  17. Daily blogbread from people like Mike Cope, Scot McKnight, Jason Clark, and others.
  18. The wonders of Bloglines.
  19. Thurm, Greg, Chris, James, and others whom I’ve never met in person, but whom I’ve gotten to know because of this blog. (Greg: I’m still puzzled by how we have never crossed paths – Highland isn’t THAT big…)
  20. Tony Romo.
  21. Papasitos.
  22. Tabbed browsing.
  23. Rhapsody to Go and my SanDisk wma player.
  24. Jeff Deyo, The Newsboys, Jeremy Camp, Lincoln Brewster, MercyMe, and a handful of other Christian artists, who help my heart keep up with the places where my head already wants to go.
  25. Studio 60 on the Sunset Strip.
  26. Dual-core processors, GeForce video cards, the engineers at Creative Labs (who make the soundblaster cards), and oodles of hard drive and ram space.
5 Responses to Thanksgiving List

  1. Trey Gillette says:

    I am thankful for you and your family and your friendship.

    Anna is thankful that you spelled ron de jombes correctly.

    I amalso thankful that you are thankful for Pappasitos and Studio 60.

    Enjoy the end of your Thanksgiving!

  2. Matt says:

    Same here, Trey.

    …and don’t let anyone tell you that I wouldn’t know how to spell “ron de jombes” without looking it up on Wikipedia. Which I didn’t.

    No, really.

    I already knew how to spell it.

    That is 100% absolutely certanly almost completely true.

  3. Thurman8er says:

    We’re too much alike, Matt. Scarily so.

    I know Highland is big, but my niece was home from ACU this weekend and I realized how fortunate she is. Not only does she get to hear some great speakers/teachers, but she was nice enough to give me her notes from Freshman Bible with Cope and Harris. Jealous, jealous, jealous.

    If you ever happen to see a beautiful, (very) tall blonde on Sunday morning named Ashley, tell her that her Uncle Steve is jealous.

  4. Mike says:

    We need to make a guy trip to Papasito’s sometime. Maybe we can take GKB and you can finally meet!

  5. GKB says:

    Matt:
    Highland is incredibly big, but it doesn’t help that we seem to be part of different churches-within-church. One day, we’ll just have to make a plan…that Mike guy could come, too, but I dunno if he’s much of a gamer…

Leave a Reply

