Worth the Effort

NT Wright is rapidly becoming one of my favorite writers. Having only limited training in New Testament studies and theology, I struggle to keep up with him, but the hard work that is involved in reading and re-reading his books, page by page, pays off in huge dividends. In fact, in my book, he may soon assume Jedi Master status, alongside Dallas Willard.

I just picked up Wright’s book Paul: In Fresh Perspective. I haven’t even managed to work through the first chapter yet, but it looks like he will be answering a lot of my questions about Paul’s writings – particularly my concern that the interpretations of Paul that are common in evangelical circles are inconsistent with the gospel that Jesus taught.

More to come later. In the meantime, if you’re interested in learing more about Bishop Wright, you can listen to his lecture on “Why Christianity Makes Sense” here.

Related Tags: ,

Leave a Reply

