A Shorter, Simpler Blog

Here are the two most common comments I get about this blog:
1. “I don’t understand everything you say – I think its over my head.”
2. “Honey, your posts are waaaaay too long.”

Comment #2 comes exclusively from my wife (who only checks in on rare occasion) – but she tends to say it a lot – so I feel like it deserves some consideration.

As far as comment #1 goes, I appreciate the kind way all of you are phrasing this, and I’m tempted to be flattered. However, I don’t think the problem is that I’m Mr. Super Genius Braniac 2000, who is functioning at a different “level” than everyone else. I think the problem is that I’m not developing my ideas well enough to get them across clearly.

Both problems stem from trying to cram too many ideas into a single post. So, in an ongoing effort to improve my writing skills, my next goal is to make my posts shorter, simpler, and clearer.

The way I figure it, a typical reader will take – maybe – 30 seconds to check out any one post. If I can’t get my point across in that amount of time, it will probably be lost.

Let me know how I’m doing.

Related Tags: , , , ,

Leave a Reply

