Not Another Post on God and Politics!

Someone please help me before its too late. I think I may be turning into a libertarian.

Some time back, I announced my resignation from the religious right. I had grown weary of being associated with people who were trying to “win” culture wars instead of moving into the world to serve people.

I’m now discovering that I’m equally wary of Christians who are aggressively advocating government spending to absolve social problems.

This doesn’t mean that I’m against all forms of social spending. But it does mean that I’m not sure it is the role of believers to badger government into forced wealth redistribution as a means of absolving social ills (any more than it is our role to badger government into preventing other activities by non-believers that seem contrary to our values).

The hope of the world lies in Jesus. Not social policy. Not tax policy. Not welfare policy. Not in trickle down economics. Not in tax and spend liberalism. Not in legislated morality.

Doesn’t it make more sense to invest the money, energy, and time over which we have been made stewards directly into the Kingdom (i.e., actually feeding and clothing those on the fringes of our society) rather than lobbying the government to do Kingdom stuff? And if that is the case, isn’t it better stewardship to find a way to free, rather than tie up, money that is in our hands so that it can be used for Kingdom purposes? And, if so, what implications should that have on the tax policies that are supported by the candidates we vote for?

I’m particularly concerned that, if we become social liberals, we will turn into another interest group among many, lobbying for government pork for our interests and slinging mud at every other interest that is out there. Do we want to be associated with that any more than we want to be associated with a “religious right”? Shouldn’t we have learned our lesson by now?

If this sounds like bizarre thinking to you, you’re not alone. I’m getting kind-of freaked out by it myself, because no one is really talking in these terms. But this idea is growing on me.

Like I said, time is running out. These thoughts may become convictions before long.

I don’t want to be a libertarian.

Somebody, please help.

Leave a Reply

